About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Duke’s Marvin Bagley III is the recipient of the 2018 Kyle Macy National Freshman of the Year award.

April 3, 2018


BOSTON, MA -- Duke’s Marvin Bagley III is the recipient of the 2018 Kyle Macy award.

The 6-foot-11 freshman averaged 20.7 points and 11.9 rebounds per game for the Blue Devils. He became just the second player ever to be named ACC Player of the Year, ACC Rookie of the Year, a first team All-ACC selection, and All-Freshman team.

“To be only the second player to do anything in the history of the tradition-rich ACC is rarified air,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “You can make a strong case for Marvin Bagley III being named the National Player of the Year. He was a dominating force this season.”

Bagley had 15 or more rebounds on eight occasions, including a 21-rebound performance on Dec. 30 against Florida State.  He scored 30 or more seven times, with a season-best 34 against Texas on Nov. 24.

Bagley led the ACC with 19 double-doubles and helped Duke a second place finish in the ACC (13-5). The Blue Devils finished 29-8 overall and advanced to the Elite 8 before falling to Kansas.

The freshman of the year award is named after Kyle Macy. The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.


Paul Atkinson, Yale
Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Mo Bamba, Texas
Troy Brown, Oregon
Zack Bryant, UAB
Desmond Cambridge, Brown
Wendell Carter, Duke
R.J. Cole, Howard
Justin Forrest, Appalachian State
Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
Luke Garza, Iowa 
Shai Gilegous-Alexander, Kentucky
Kellan Grady, Davidson
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia
Jhivan Jackson, UTSA
David Jenkins Jr., South Dakota State
Carlik Jones, Radford
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Cameron Krutwig, Loyola Chicago
Loudon Love, Wright State
Brandon McCoy, UNLV
Jalen McDaniels, San Diego State
Ja Morant, Murray State 
Zach Norvell Jr., Gonzaga
JD Notae, Jacksonville
Collin Sexton, Alabama
Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech
Terry Taylor, Austin Peay
Justin Turner, Bowling Green
Lonnie Walker, Miami
Tremont Waters, LSU
Shawn Williams, East Carolina 
Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State 
Trae Young, Oklahoma

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.